Wiener Konzerthaus

Bread and Butter. On the Necessities of Life

The photo shows a close-up of a heavily moldy piece of bread
© Wien Museum MUSA
The photo shows a close-up of a heavily moldy piece of bread

What comes to mind when we are confronted with the term "Bread and Butter"? A strong association is with people who, despite regular work, do not receive an appropriate wage - who regularly run out of basic foodstuffs despite being gainfully employed. The group exhibition Bread and Butter. On the Necessities of Life takes a critical look at common prejudices against people in such precarious living conditions. The invited artists want to stimulate a broad discussion about the social conditions of wage labor.

13 artistic positions deal with the unpaid domestic and care work of women, address the effects of years of night work on the body, report on experiences with migration, exclusion and racism in everyday working life and tell of social norms and gender stereotypes.

Venue

Wien Museum musa

Startgalerie
Felderstraße 6-8
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Wed. 17 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July

  • Wed. 17 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

August

  • Thu. 01 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

September

  • Sun. 01 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Fewer dates