Wiener Konzerthaus

Troika. Terminal Beach

The photo shows a robot arm covered in fur cutting down the last tree on earth. In the foreground a stagnant body of water, in the background a barren stony landscape
© Troika, Courtesy of the artist and max goelitz
The photo shows a robot arm covered in fur cutting down the last tree on earth. In the foreground a stagnant body of water, in the background a barren stony landscape

The London based collective Troika, founded in 2003 by Eva Rucki, Conny Freyer, and Sebastien Noel, deals with the manifold connections between humans, nature, and technology.

In their solo exhibition specially conceived for the MAK, the artists focus on the multi-layered forms of non-human intelligence in an immersive spatial installation. While in the digital animation Terminal Beach a fur-covered robotic arm fells the last tree on Earth, 3D printed sculptures made from digital twins of various museum objects expand the scenography into the physical space, populating a flooded landscape as enigmatic creatures. The exhibition not only raises questions about the possible (mal)adaptation of living creatures to climate change, but also about the digital afterlife of human myths, culture, and history.

Venue

MAK - Museum of Applied Arts, Vienna

Stubenring 5
1010 Wien

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July

  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Thu. 01 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates