Wiener Konzerthaus

Theft

The photo shows hands in white gloves wrapping a light-colored death mask in white paper
© Patrick Topitschnig / Jüdisches Museum Wien / Wien Museum
The photo shows hands in white gloves wrapping a light-colored death mask in white paper

The systematic disenfranchisement, persecution, and murder of Vienna’s Jewish population under the Nazis was accompanied by unprecedented looting. Thousands of apartments were plundered by various organizations and private individuals. Stolen furniture, artworks, and ornaments were seized. Many were sold or given to Viennese museums.

„Theft", a joint exhibition by the Jewish Museum Vienna and the Wien Museum, explores these criminal practices. It traces the fate of the objects, from their theft to their acquisition by the museum. Finally, it focuses on their restitution, which began in 1999 following a decision by the council of the City of Vienna.
The exhibition features a film installation at two sites. It starts at the Jewish Museum Vienna, which stands symbolically for the looted objects and their rightful owners. Here, their stories are told and the looted objects are shown as they are packed for transport. At the Wien Museum, visitors observe their unpacking and incorporation in the Städtische Sammlungen (Municipal Collections).

The presentation is conceived as both an artistic installation and a temporary memorial, marking twenty­five years of provenance research in the City of Vienna collections.

Venue

Wien Museum

Karlsplatz 8
1040 Wien

Current Dates

  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July

  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Jul 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Thu. 01 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Aug 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September

  • Sun. 01 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Sep 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

October

  • Tue. 01 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 09 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 16 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Oct 2024, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates