Wiener Konzerthaus

On the Backs of Camels

The photo shows a Muslim woman standing on a camel. The scene takes place on a beach by the sea.
Super Taus and a Camel Yasha 2017 © Foto: Imam Guseinov Dank an Dzhamilya Dagirova, Naida Omarova. In Auftrag gegeben von R&D Magazine
The photo shows a Muslim woman standing on a camel. The scene takes place on a beach by the sea.

Living together with camels and their close relatives shapes cultures. It is a source of livelihood for people around the world and part of their cultural identity. In a special exhibition scheduled to begin in 2024, the Weltmuseum Wien will explore the many aspects of life with dromedaries, Bactrian camels, llamas, and alpacas and will examine the effect that these animals, broadly called camelids, have had on the societies of which they are part.

Featuring films, photographs, artworks, and artefacts from the collections of the Weltmuseum Wien, several of which will be on public view for the first time, and with numerous loans from other institutions, the exhibition in six galleries narrates encounters with camelids past, present, and future.

The exhibition’s thematic arc extends from the first camels, which evolved in North America, how they were domesticated, spread across the world, and are kept today as universal livestock that have contributed to human survival.

Venue

Weltmuseum Wien (World Museum Vienna)

Hofburg, Heldenplatz
1010 Wien

Current Dates

  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July

  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Thu. 01 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 20 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 21 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 22 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 23 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 24 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 25 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 30 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 31 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

September

  • Sun. 01 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Sep 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

October

  • Tue. 01 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 02 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 03 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 04 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 05 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 06 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 08 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 09 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 10 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 11 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 12 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 13 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 15 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 16 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 17 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 18 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 19 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 20 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 22 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 23 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 24 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 25 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 26 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 27 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 29 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 30 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 31 Oct 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

November

  • Fri. 01 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Nov 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

December

  • Sun. 01 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 03 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 04 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 05 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 06 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 07 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 08 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 10 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 11 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 12 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 13 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 14 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 15 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 17 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 18 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 19 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 20 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 21 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 22 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 23 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 24 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Wed. 25 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 26 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 27 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 28 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 29 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 30 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 31 Dec 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

January 2025

  • Wed. 01 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 02 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 03 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 04 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 05 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 07 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 08 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 09 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 10 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 11 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 12 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 14 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 15 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 16 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 17 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 18 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 19 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 21 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Wed. 22 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 23 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 24 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 25 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 26 Jan 2025, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates