Wiener Konzerthaus

An die Freude

The photo shows the movement of a young Japanese woman's arms like white snakes of light against a black background
Mariko Tagashira: Flugel weilt, Tokyo 2021 © Mariko Tagashira
The photo shows the movement of a young Japanese woman's arms like white snakes of light against a black background

"All men become brothers!" Beethoven's 9th Symphony in D minor is the last work that the composer, who was almost deaf at the time, was able to complete in 1824.

On the occasion of the 200th anniversary of its premiere in Vienna, WestLicht is making a statement in the spirit of the fraternity proclaimed in the symphony: the exhibition An die Freude shows poetic long exposures, sound installations and tactile images developed by Japanese photographer Mariko Tagashira in collaboration with the inclusive children's choir White Hands Chorus Nippon and its artistic director, soprano Erika Colon. Children with and without physical disabilities sing together in this choir; deaf members sing in sign language and with the help of their facial expressions.

Venue

Westlicht Center for Photography

Westbahnstraße 40
1070 Wien

Current Dates

  • Tue. 27 Feb 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Feb 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Feb 2024, 2 p.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 01 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Mar 2024, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Mar 2024, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

February

  • Tue. 27 Feb 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Feb 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Feb 2024, 2 p.m. - 9 p.m.

March

  • Fri. 01 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Mar 2024, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Mar 2024, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Mar 2024, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Mar 2024, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Mar 2024, 2 p.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Mar 2024, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Mar 2024, 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Fewer dates