Wiener Konzerthaus

Katharina Grosse

Studio view, the walls hung with fabric panels and these are sprayed in the colors neon green, red, black and yellow
Katharina Grosse Studio view/Atelieransicht, Berlin-Spandau, 2021 © Katharina Grosse + VG Bild-Kunst, 2023
Studio view, the walls hung with fabric panels and these are sprayed in the colors neon green, red, black and yellow

Katharina Grosse is among the present day’s most important female artists. Her painted works captivate viewers with their power and chromatic intensity. Like the proverbial "savage mind", Grosse is experimental and unpredictable in her thinking, effecting a balancing act between coincidence and control. Expansion and continual transgression, freedom and autonomy represent the main pillars of this oeuvre.

The artist, who lives and works in Berlin and in Auckland, New Zealand, frequently goes beyond classic canvas formats: her paintings, assemblages, and installations in their respective spaces emphasize and characterize said spaces, drawing on their respective genii loci. Katharina Grosse’s vibrating fields of color extend across entire architectures, objects, and large spaces in the public realm. Surfaces are folded and protrude into the third dimension, with the artist making liberal use of a compressor-driven airbrush in order to accomplish fine chromatic mists, hard transitions, and subtly shifting hues. Light and shadow serve to amplify her images.

Venue

Albertina

Albertinaplatz 1
1010 Wien

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Mon. 26 Feb 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Feb 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Feb 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Feb 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 01 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 04 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

February

  • Mon. 26 Feb 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 27 Feb 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 28 Feb 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 29 Feb 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

March

  • Fri. 01 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 02 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 03 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 04 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 05 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 06 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 07 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 08 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 09 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 10 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 11 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 12 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 13 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 14 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 15 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 16 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 17 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 18 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 19 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 20 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 21 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 22 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 23 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 24 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 25 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 26 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 27 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Thu. 28 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 29 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
  • Sat. 30 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 31 Mar 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

April

  • Mon. 01 Apr 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates