Wiener Konzerthaus

The Beauty of Diversity

A very colorful material picture depicting the first man Adam, with big eyes and a very big mouth with teeth made of plastic forks in it
Verena Bretschneider (vormals Georgy Bretschneider) | Adam | ALBERTINA, Wien – Sammlung Dagmar und Manfred Chobot | © Verena Bretschneider
A very colorful material picture depicting the first man Adam, with big eyes and a very big mouth with teeth made of plastic forks in it

Efforts to round out, expand, and diversify museum collections quite necessarily follow from today’s unconditional calls for equal rights and freedom of expression. The diversity to be found among artistic approaches in terms of both style and substance represents an enrichment of the art-historical canon.

For nearly three centuries, the Albertina acquired, collected, and exhibited works by white men—from Leonardo, Michelangelo, and Raphael to Dürer, Rembrandt, and Rubens and on to Goya, Casper David Friedrich, Cézanne, Picasso, Schiele, Warhol, and Klimt.

The historical collections of the Albertina Museum offer an impression that is deeply one-sided and that characterized the overall artistic canon for centuries. The 21st century, however, smashed this canon—through globalization, but also (at least in large parts of the world) through the attainment of equality by groups that had previously been marginalized and subject to discrimination. This exhibition focuses on the diversity of our time, the diversity of identities and art forms, materials and genders.

Venue

Albertina modern

Karlsplatz 5
1010 Wien

Tickets & Info

Current Dates

  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
All dates

All Dates

July

  • Thu. 18 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 19 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 20 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 21 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 22 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 23 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 24 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 25 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 26 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 27 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 28 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 29 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 30 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 31 Jul 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

August

  • Thu. 01 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 02 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 03 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 04 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 05 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 06 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 07 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 08 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 09 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 11 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Mon. 12 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Tue. 13 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Wed. 14 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Thu. 15 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Fri. 16 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 17 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
  • Sun. 18 Aug 2024, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Fewer dates